3rd Annual Intergovernmental Council Meeting, October 21, 2016

Third Intergovernmental Council Meeting held in Yellowknife

YELLOWKNIFE (October 21, 2016) – The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) and the Aboriginal government partners to the Devolution Agreement met today in Yellowknife at the third annual meeting of the Intergovernmental Council.


Leaders from  the GNWT, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Northwest Territory Métis Nation, Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated, Gwich’in Tribal Council, Tłı̨chǫ Government, Acho Dene Koe First Nation, Salt River First Nation, Denínu Kų́ę́ First Nation and the Kátł’odeeche First Nation were involved in the meeting and discussed a range of issues related to lands and resource management. 


At the meeting, leaders discussed their willingness to work together on putting in place systems and processes for the management of lands and resources.  They specifically spoke about the work being undertaken by the GNWT at the Intergovernmental Council and agreed to develop a collaborative process to amend legislation flowing from Devolution to address the management of public lands and waters. 


The partners also discussed how the benefits are beginning to flow to the Aboriginal governments as a result of resource revenue sharing.  Under the Devolution Agreement, the GNWT committed to share up to 25% of its resource revenues with Aboriginal governments who have signed-on as partners.   To date, for 2015-2016, the GNWT has disbursed a total of $5,867,266.22 to its partners. 


Quick Facts


A key feature of the Devolution Agreement is the establishment of an Intergovernmental Council to allow the public and Aboriginal governments to cooperate and collaborate on matters related to lands and resource management.
The Council is established by the Northwest Territories Intergovernmental Agreement on Lands and Resources Management.
The Intergovernmental Council allows governments to share ideas, discuss common priorities and interests and also explore ways to coordinate their respective land and resource management practices, share capacity and avoid duplication.  
For more information, please visit http://www.igcnwt.ca/



For more information, contact:


Andrew Livingstone
Senior Cabinet Communications Advisor
Government of the Northwest Territories
867-767-9140 ext.  11091                                                                                                       


Bob Simpson
Director, Intergovernmental Relations

Inuvialuit Regional Corporation



Ursula Vogt

Executive Director

Northwest Territory Métis Nation



Ethel Blondin-Andrew


Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated



David Reid

Director, Intergovernmental Relations

Gwich’in Tribal Council



Zabey Nevitt

Tłı̨chǫ Government



Alex Fanni
Acho Dene Koe First Nation

Carol Ann Chaplin

Senior Administrative Officer

Denínu Kų́ę́ First Nation

Allen Stanzell

Chief Executive Officer

Salt River First Nation

Peter Redvers
Kátł’odeeche First Nation



[Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: Tlicho flag]





























Date of Publication: 
Wednesday, October 26, 2016 - 16:00